Font Identification Request: Not resolved

Hi, I'm a newbie here, but I've been dabbling in typography and font design on my own for a few years now. I have discovered a style of ornamental capital which I'm eager to find as a font. I'm not sure if it is really a font, though. It might just be fancy customised lettering.

I found these capitals in a book called "Angels: An Endangered Species". I was actually more impressed by these capitals than by the content of the book. I just stumbled on this site, and there seem to be more than a few folks here who really know their fonts :)

Okay, a little more detail on this: I've searched through the text, and these ornate caps are reserved for chapter openings (as they should be), so there are few of them. I was only able to spot these 4 letters (some are used more than once at various places).

Any ideas on this one? The engraved look of the detail makes me think that it's probably custom lettering, but with font design as intricate as it is these days, I figured even for a book that's been around since 1990, that there might be such a font. Oh, and one more thing: the typesetting of the text was done by someone in Florence, italy by the name of Simonetta Castelli. I know, it's a long shot, but I can't find anything but pages in Italian on her (hmm ... wonder why?? ;) Thanks in advance for helping!

David

[DEL]

I tried to look for infos about Simonetta Castelli, but the only one popping up in Google is an Italian athlete. If you need it, show me some pages relating to a Simonetta Castelli involved in desktop publishing and I'll translate them for you.

That's the best I can do.

hi, I am the one who typeset the book.

Unfortunately no, that wasn't a font. They were images scanned and inserted one by one - in fact, until not long ago I had all the scanned images on a disc, but I'm afraid I don't anymore.